DIY · Free Printables · Gifts · Homemade Gifts

“Shhh! Baby Sleeping” Sign

Shhh-baby-sleeping-signbaby-sleeping-sign

One of my friends is expecting her first baby soon, and she isn’t going to find out the sex of the baby. I hate to buy yet another 0-3 or 3-6 month sized outfit in neutral colors. After having two kids of my own and attending/planning several baby showers, I’ve realized that the bulk of gifts are smaller sized outfits and it’s clear that babies that size barely get any use out of them. On the flip side, moms everywhere probably see no problem with having a new outfit for every single day of the month especially in their baby’s 0-3 month stage when they’re barely surviving on very little sleep. The last chore you want to do is laundry on those zombie days/nights of which you hardly know which day it is.

Regardless, I find it so much more fun to give a homemade gift. Once she finds out if it’s a boy or girl, I can then balance out the disparity of clothing sizes. But for now, I decided to get a little creative and design a sign to hang on their front door handle to make known that there is a baby sleeping. I most definitely would’ve loved to have had a sign such as this one when I was breastfeeding and waking every two hours. Sleep deprivation = cranky mommy. Cranky soon turns to crazy so this sign is a necessity in my book. When the UPS delivery guy arrives, she won’t want to scratch his eyes out for waking her babe, that is, as long as he reads the sign.

It’s just a basic 5×7 inch printed canvas with a 0.5 inch gallery wrap. I designed it to be 6 x 8 inches to compensate for the 0.5″ surrounding gallery-wrap. It’s pretty inexpensive, especially if you catch a sale of 25% off canvas prints at Sam’s Club. Otherwise, without the sale price, it is $10.86 total. Not a bad price for a super thoughtful gift! I’m sure other stores that offer inexpensive printing (like Costco) have something similar to this printing size with gallery wrap. But here is the link of what I specifically printed my design to:

Sam’s Club Photo Gallery-Wrapped Canvas 5×7 vertical

Note: I used thick patterned ribbon to create the loop to hang on the front door handle. I adhered the ribbon to the back of the canvas with “Liquid Nails” (found at any home improvement store). Hot glue doesn’t do well in hot or cold weather, so I highly recommend using Liquid Nails—it will endure anything. Depending on the type of handle on the front door, you could either make a loop to hang around a lever handle, or if the front door is an enclosed vertical handle, you could use two separate ribbons on the back of the canvas to allow for tying around the handle instead of looping. 

Leave a Reply

