Beef · Recipes · Side Dishes

Beer Pot Roast with Vinegar and Salt Roasted Potatoes

beer-roast-beef

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Cooking for my family is always one of the strongest ways I show my family how much I love them. Food is the soul of family tradition. That being said, I enjoy spending quality time with my family outside of the kitchen, as well. Some days I need a break from cooking in order play catch up. Freeing up my time in the kitchen allows other quality time with my kids to occur. We like a good balance of everything, whether it’s crafts, sports, outdoor activities or board games, we want it all! But who doesn’t want it all? Most days I feel like a ping pong ball bouncing from one activity to the next. That’s exactly why I need a “fix it and forget it” recipe now and then. Beer pot roast with vinegar and salt roasted potatoes is a good fit for a chaotic day.

On another note, I realized that something was considerably wrong with my blog—I have shared zero recipes including beef thus far! Sacrilege! We farm and feed cattle for a living, so for me to forget to include beef after starting this blog three months or so ago is pretty bad to say the least. I will hopefully redeem my lack of attention to detail by sharing one of my all time favorite “low and slow” recipes with minimal effort and maximum reward.

I make this pot roast a lot during canning season (or I grill just about anything) because my stovetop is maxed out in usable space. The oven is the only space you’ll need for this dish. Your whole house will be perfumed as though you’ve just walked into a restaurant. And isn’t it great when others think you’ve slaved all day over a meal? But with very little prep work and a lot of downtime, you’ll get to spend a bit of extra time getting caught up on your never ending to-do list. Or god forbid you might be able to read a book uninterrupted. I always hope for a some quality “me time” or self-improvement, but that luxury only takes place after the kids have gone to bed. Even then, it’s a rarity. My husband always reminds me, “Someday our house will stay clean and you’ll be able to get more done, and then you’ll be sad because it will be because the kids have grown up.” He’s right. Things get chaotic around here, but I know I’ll be nostalgic for the chaos all too soon.

I hope you’ll enjoy the ease of the recipe when you’re otherwise feeling frenzied on a busy day.

seasoned-chuck-roast

roast-falling-off-the-bone

roast-with-potatoes-and-carrots-plated

roast-in-serving-dish

BEER POT ROAST

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 chuck roast
  • Adolph’s Original Meat Tenderizer (or store brand meat tenderizer)
  • Garlic powder
  • Dried rosemary
  • Dried thyme
  • Black pepper
  • Lager beer or whatever you have on hand

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 250 degrees F.

Place the chuck roast into a large 9×13 inch pan or a roaster with lid. Sprinkle seasoning generously and evenly over the meat with the meat tenderizer salt, garlic powder, rosemary, thyme and pepper (see photo). Pour a beer over top, cover with foil or lid and place in oven to cook for eight hours.

Using tongs, put the meat on a plate or cutting board and let the meat rest for at least 30 minutes. Then take the fat off, place the pieces of roast in a serving dish and top with a drizzle (or three drizzles) of the cooking liquid.

Recipe notes:

  1. You really can’t mess up this recipe by cooking it slightly longer than eight hours, so don’t fret if you’re running late at work. The super low temperature of 250 degrees allows you a bit of wiggle room without drying out the meat or making it tough and chewy. The meat will still fall off the bone!
  2. Don’t rush the resting time for the roast! Letting the meat rest is crucial in retaining the juices. No one wants a dried out chewy roast that you have to choke down. 
  3. If you’re in the mood for one extra side for your pot roast, add carrots into the pot roast pan 2 ½ hours before you plan on taking it out of the oven.
  4. Cooking is an art while baking is a science. I don’t get really specific with exact amounts of seasoning when it comes to grilling or seasoning beef in general. Each cut of beef (or whatever meat you’re working with) is going to require a different amount of seasoning depending on its weight and size. Cooking allows for flexibility, so don’t worry about the rigidity of specific measurements.
  5. If you’ve never tried meat-tenderizing salt, I recommend trying it. For less expensive cuts of meat like rib steak, it helps make for a juicier and melt in your mouth experience.

vinegar-salt-roasted-potatoes

VINEGAR AND SALT ROASTED POTATOES

INGREDIENTS:

  • 8 red or golden potatoes chopped into about 1 inch cubes
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 3 tablespoons cider vinegar (or malt vinegar)
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ teaspoon black pepper

DIRECTIONS:

Place a large sheet pan with rims (or a large stone pan with rims) in your oven and preheat to 425 degrees F.

Place chopped potatoes in a large bowl. Drizzle potatoes with oil and vinegar. Add salt and pepper; toss to coat. Transfer potatoes to the preheated pan and place in the oven on top rack uncovered for 20 minutes flipping the potatoes halfway of the cooking time. To finish, turn the broiler on for about 2-3 minutes to create a nice crispy texture and caramelized flavor.

Recipe notes:

  1. When you take the pot roast out of the oven to rest, increase the temperature from 250 to 425 degrees ensuring that they both come out on time and are served hot.
  2. These potatoes can be cooked one of two ways: Bake uncovered on the top rack of the oven at 425 degrees for 20 minutes flipping potatoes halfway of the cooking time and finish by broiling for 2-3 minutes—or bake uncovered at 350 for 2 ½ hours. I’ve found that there is usually an alternative method, so I try to make recipes work if there is a change in plan. The end result tastes and looks the same in this case. Sometimes I use the higher temp and shorter time if I am grilling or simply at home already. If I plan on being gone or picking up my daughter from school, I’ll prep ahead and cook the potatoes at a lower temp for longer. It’s always nice to have options.
Leave a Reply

