Recipes · Salads & Dressings

Mexican Corn Salad

Mexican Corn SaladWe plant sweet corn (well, Poppie, my mom’s dad, actually plants it), then harvest and freeze it each year. I’ll admit the prepping of sweet corn for freezing is tedious, but . . .

it is

SOOOOO

worth it!

Mexican corn salad is one of my favorite recipes to highlight the absolutely perfect texture and taste of our homegrown sweet corn. Truthfully, I have a hard time deciding whether to call this recipe a “salad” or “salsa.” My husband loves eating it with tortilla chips just as much as having it plain or on chicken salads. With all the fresh ingredients that go into this salad/salsa, it brings a KAPOW of flavor. It makes an everyday chicken taco salad much more appealing. And isn’t it great when you don’t even realize how healthy something is because it is so jam-packed full of deliciousness? I think I could eat it every week of summer because it goes so well as a side dish or topping with so many grilled meals. The simplicity and quick steps can’t get much better or more rewarding.

To top it off, my three-year-old even loves it! We always insist that our kids at least try every dish served to them so that they’ll know for sure whether or not they like it. All kids are skeptical and difficult to feed at times (everyday), but now that our kids are slightly older and able to be reasoned with, life is getting a little easier. As I type this little tidbit about them now, I realize that as soon as supper rolls around, I could be saying something completely different. Just when you think you’ve got your little ones figured out, they throw you for a loop at mealtime.

Since starting this blog, I’ve been better about recording the precise (well, mostly precise) measurements of each ingredient that I use in my recipes. When I cook, it’s easy for me to get in a hurry and throw in a pinch, dash or handful of something rather than measuring it. I’m better at remembering the general proportions of each ingredient to make everything balanced. But I know my kids won’t know my method of madness someday when they might possibly want their favorite recipes in a decent format, so I’m forcing myself to take more specific notes these days. Those jotted down memories and recipes might even help me someday when I become senile. There are days when I feel like I’m losing it already, but isn’t it because there is more to remember as you get older?!

On that note, I hope you enjoy this recipe for Mexican Corn Salad/Salsa!

Corn Salad Prep

MEXICAN CORN SALAD

INGREDIENTS:

  •  2 (16-ounce bags) frozen corn, thawed (about 4 cups of fresh corn) 
  • 1 (15-ounce) can of black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 can of black olives, sliced
  • 2 sweet bell peppers (orange and red), diced
  • 1 cup chopped scallions
  • 1 lime, for both zest and juice (about ¼ cup juice)
  • ½ bunch of cilantro, finely chopped
  • 1 pint of regular salsa, any kind you prefer
  • ½ teaspoon of cumin
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • A few dashes of hot sauce, optional

DIRECTIONS:

Combine all ingredients and refrigerate for at least one hour before serving.

 

 

Leave a Reply

